Children Services Mission Statement

The Shelby County Department of Job and Family Services, Children Services Division, is dedicated to securing safe, permanent care within their own homes, communities, and cultures.

The agency recognizes that the primary responsibility of the child welfare system is to protect children from mal-treatment; and that the best way of meeting this responsibility is, whenever possible, to strengthen families to protect their own children.  This not only protects children but also prevents the consequences of separation from out-of-home placement.

This approach encompasses the following values:

  • Children have the right to grow up with their family
  • Children have the right to be nurtured and protected in a stable environment
  • When children are at risk of harm,  the community has the responsibility to intervene
  • Families are our community’s most important resources and therefore must be respected, valued,  and encouraged to build on their existing strengths

Shelby County Ohio Job Family Children Services Mission Statement The community must support families in raising and caring for children.

MESSAGE BOARD

Computer Classes
FREE Basic Computer Classes asre being offered at OhioMeansJobs Shelby County. Call 937-498-4981 Ext. 2816 to register. See flyer for more details. Registration is limited!

View Details...

Employment Workshops
OhioMeansJobs Shelby County offers free employment workshops.  Workshop participants have the opportunity to improve their job seeking skills to aid in finding a new job or to brush up on skills to retain a job once they are working.  Workshops are taught by instructors from Upper Valley Career Center and the Adult Basic Literacy Program (ABLE).  To register for a workshop, call OhioMeansJobs Shelby County at 937-498-4981 Extension 2816

Resume Writing Workshop
Emphasis on the importance of a resume.
Writing high quality cover letters.
Monday, March 13 & 27
Monday, April 10 & 24
Monday, May 8 & 22
Monday, June 5 &19
9:00 AM - 11:00 AM


Interviewing Skills Workshop
Selling yourself at the interview.
Difficult interview questions.
Wednesday, March 8
Wednesday, April 12
Wednesday, May 10
Wednesday, June 14
1:00 PM - 3:00 PM


Job Search Skills Workshop
Review methods to find job openings.
Wednesday, April 5
Wednesday, May 3
Wednesday, June 7
1:00 PM - 3:00 PM


Good Employee Skills Workshop
Review Employer Expectations.
Wednesday, March 15
Wednesday, April 19
Wednesday, May 17
Wednesday, June 21
1:00 PM - 3:00 PM

View Workshop Flyer   Shelby County Ohio Job Family Services Free Workshop Flyer

 

HIRING EVENTS & JOB LEADS

Shelby County Ohio Job Family Services Local Job Postings

View Local Job Opportunities   Shelby County Ohio Job Family Services Local Job Opportunities
Visit us on Facebook








 


ADDRESS 227 South Ohio Avenue
Sidney, Ohio 45365
PHONE 937-498-4981
FAX 937-498-7396
HOURS M, W, TH, F - 7:30 am - 4 pm
Tuesdays - 7:30 am - 6 pm