Establish Paternity

Paternity establishment is the legal determination of fatherhood. The CSEA can assist with establishing paternity when there is not an existing final and enforceable determination of paternity. A final enforceable determination of paternity exists when a court or administrative order has been issued determining that a man is the father of a child or 60 days have passed since an Acknowledgement of Paternity Affidavit has been signed. A support order cannot be issued until paternity has been established.

Paternity can be established up to the child’s 23rd birthday.

If you are interested in requesting paternity establishment for your child, go to www.odjfs.state.oh.us, to complete an application to request our services.

Benefits of establishing paternity:

  • Right to collect Social Security or Veteran’s Benefits

  • Inheritance rights

  • Access to medical history

Shelby County Ohio Job Family Services Child Support Paternity Establishment

Ways to establish paternity:

  • Acknowledgment of Paternity Affidavit: This form is made available at the hospital to unwed mothers when the child is born. The mother must not have been married within 300 days of the date of birth to be able to complete this form. The biological father and mother must both complete the form and their signatures need to be notarized. This form is a voluntary way for people to admit to being a child’s biological parents.

  • Genetic Testing: Genetic testing is conducted with buccal swabs. Skin cells are collected from the inside of the mouth with cotton swabs. When the resulting tests show that there is a 99% or greater probability that the man is the father, paternity will be established.

  • Marriage: A man is presumed to be the father of a child if the parties were married at the time of the child’s birth or if the child was born within 300 days after death, divorce or dissolution. The mother, the presumed father or another man alleging himself to be the father of the child may request genetic testing in this situation.

MESSAGE BOARD


Employment Workshops
OhioMeansJobs Shelby County offers free employment workshops.  Workshop participants have the opportunity to improve their job seeking skills to aid in finding a new job or to brush up on skills to retain a job once they are working.  Workshops are taught by instructors from Upper Valley Career Center and the Adult Basic Literacy Program (ABLE).  To register for a workshop, call OhioMeansJobs Shelby County at 937-498-4981 Extension 2816

Resume Writing Workshop
Emphasis on the importance of a resume.
Writing high quality cover letters.
Monday, January 9 & 23
Monday, February 13 & 27
Monday, March 13 & 27
Monday, April 10 & 24
Monday, May 8 & 22
Monday, June 5 &19
9:00 AM - 11:00 AM


Interviewing Skills Workshop
Selling yourself at the interview.
Difficult interview questions.
Wednesday, January 11
Wednesday, February 8
Wednesday, March 8
Wednesday, April 12
Wednesday, May 10
Wednesday, June 14
1:00 PM - 3:00 PM


Job Search Skills Workshop
Review methods to find job openings.
Wednesday, January 4
Wednesday, February 1
Wednesday, March 1
Wednesday, April 5
Wednesday, May 3
Wednesday, June 7
1:00 PM - 3:00 PM


Good Employee Skills Workshop
Review Employer Expectations.
Wednesday, January 18
Wednesday, February 15
Wednesday, March 15
Wednesday, April 19
Wednesday, May 17
Wednesday, June 21
1:00 PM - 3:00 PM

View Workshop Flyer   Shelby County Ohio Job Family Services Free Workshop Flyer

 

HIRING EVENTS & JOB LEADS

Shelby County Ohio Job Family Services Local Job Postings

View Local Job Opportunities   Shelby County Ohio Job Family Services Local Job Opportunities
Visit us on Facebook



February 22, 2017

1:00 PM - 3:00 PM

Spherion will be conducting open interviews at OhioMeansJobs Shelby County, 227 S. Ohio Avenue, Sidney, Ohio.

View Details...

February 23, 2017

10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Securitas will be conducting open interviews at OhioMeansJobs Shelby County, 227 S. Ohio Avenue, Sidney, Ohio.

View Details...

February 24, 2017

9:00 AM - 11:00 AM

Elwood Staffing will be conducting open interviews at OhioMeansJobs Shelby County, 227 S. Ohio Avenue, Sidney, Ohio.

View Details...




 


ADDRESS 227 South Ohio Avenue
Sidney, Ohio 45365
PHONE 937-498-4981
FAX 937-498-7396
HOURS M, W, TH, F - 7:30 am - 4 pm
Tuesdays - 7:30 am - 6 pm