Adult Protective Services

The state requires Adult Protective Services(APS) be provided to investigate and evaluate reports of adults age 60 and over, who are allegedly abused, neglected or exploited.  These adults may be handicapped due to aging or they may have physical or mental impairments which prevent them from providing for their own care and protection.  Adults who experience abuse, neglect and/or exploitation are offered support for protection and self-sufficiency.  Competent adults do have the right to make their own decisions even if family members or the community do not feel these decisions are in the best interest of the adult.

To report a case of suspected abuse or neglect, please call

937-498-4981

M, W, TH, F, 7:30 am. - 4:00 pm. 
Tuesday, 7:30 am. - 6:00 pm. 

After hours you may call the Shelby County Sheriff’s Department at:

937-498-1111

and they will contact an on-call worker.

When making a report, please provide as many details as possible to help us determine whether there is cause for an investigation.
When an investigation is launched, the alleged victim is notified of the reason for it.  For cases determined to be an emergency, an APS staff member will make a home visit within 24 hours.  We begin other investigations within three working days.

When APS determines that intervention is necessary, we develop a plan of action with the older adult and make sure the client receives needed services to ensure safety and security.

MESSAGE BOARD


Employment Workshops
OhioMeansJobs Shelby County offers free employment workshops.  Workshop participants have the opportunity to improve their job seeking skills to aid in finding a new job or to brush up on skills to retain a job once they are working.  Workshops are taught by instructors from Upper Valley Career Center and the Adult Basic Literacy Program (ABLE).  To register for a workshop, call OhioMeansJobs Shelby County at 937-498-4981 Extension 2816

Resume Writing Workshop
Emphasis on the importance of a resume.
Writing high quality cover letters.
Monday, January 9 & 23
Monday, February 13 & 27
Monday, March 13 & 27
Monday, April 10 & 24
Monday, May 8 & 22
Monday, June 5 &19
9:00 AM - 11:00 AM


Interviewing Skills Workshop
Selling yourself at the interview.
Difficult interview questions.
Wednesday, January 11
Wednesday, February 8
Wednesday, March 8
Wednesday, April 12
Wednesday, May 10
Wednesday, June 14
1:00 PM - 3:00 PM


Job Search Skills Workshop
Review methods to find job openings.
Wednesday, January 4
Wednesday, February 1
Wednesday, March 1
Wednesday, April 5
Wednesday, May 3
Wednesday, June 7
1:00 PM - 3:00 PM


Good Employee Skills Workshop
Review Employer Expectations.
Wednesday, January 18
Wednesday, February 15
Wednesday, March 15
Wednesday, April 19
Wednesday, May 17
Wednesday, June 21
1:00 PM - 3:00 PM

View Workshop Flyer   Shelby County Ohio Job Family Services Free Workshop Flyer

 

HIRING EVENTS & JOB LEADS

Shelby County Ohio Job Family Services Local Job Postings

View Local Job Opportunities   Shelby County Ohio Job Family Services Local Job Opportunities
Visit us on Facebook



February 22, 2017

1:00 PM - 3:00 PM

Spherion will be conducting open interviews at OhioMeansJobs Shelby County, 227 S. Ohio Avenue, Sidney, Ohio.

View Details...

February 23, 2017

10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Securitas will be conducting open interviews at OhioMeansJobs Shelby County, 227 S. Ohio Avenue, Sidney, Ohio.

View Details...

February 24, 2017

9:00 AM - 11:00 AM

Elwood Staffing will be conducting open interviews at OhioMeansJobs Shelby County, 227 S. Ohio Avenue, Sidney, Ohio.

View Details...




 


ADDRESS 227 South Ohio Avenue
Sidney, Ohio 45365
PHONE 937-498-4981
FAX 937-498-7396
HOURS M, W, TH, F - 7:30 am - 4 pm
Tuesdays - 7:30 am - 6 pm